The Greek Committee of Byzantine Studies is a scientific association founded in 1952 and based in Athens. According to its Statute, its purpose is: "a) The association of Greek Byzantinists with the International Union of Byzantine Studies. b) The promotion of projects by the International Union of Byzantine Studies. c) In general, the promotion and co-ordination of Byzantine Studies in Greece. d) The participation of Greek Byzantinists in other international scientific organizations, other than the International Union of Byzantine Studies (the International Union of Historical Sciences, the International Association of Classical Studies, UNESCO, etc.)".

The Greek Committee of Byzantine Studies is one of the oldest members of the International Association of Byzantines Studies (Association Internationale des Ėtudes Byzantines) and has the largest number of members, representing all fields of Byzantine studies. It is administered by a nine-member Board, elected by the General Assembly every five years, in the year following the International Congress.

The chairman and one other member of the Board participate as representatives of the Greek Committee in the General Assembly (Assemblée générale) of the International Union of Byzantine Studies, which is attended by 37 other representatives of national committees from the countries where Byzantine studies are being cultivated. The General Assembly meets regularly, both within the framework of the International Byzantine Conference every five years and during the Intermediate Reunion (Réunion Inter-congrès) organized by the Greek Committee in Greece.

The first Board of the Greek Committee consisted of Anastasios Orlandos (Chairman), Andreas Xyngopoulos (Vice-Chairman), Leandros Vranoussis (General Secretary), Maria Nystazopoulou-Pelekidou (Treasurer), Spyros Troianos (Secretary adj.), as well as Dionysios Zakythinos, Nikolaos Tomadakis, Panagiotis Zepos and Georgios Megas. The Commission's chairmen were Dionysios Zakythinos, Panagiotis Zepos, Manolis Chatzidakis, Ioannis Karagiannopoulos, Georgios Galavaris, and Maria Nystazopoulou-Pelekidou.

The Greek Committee of Byzantine Studies, presented the work of Greek Byzantinists for the years 1991-2005

Fifteen years of Byzantine Studies Bibliography in Greece